Skip to content

Surviving Patch 4.0.1

by on October 13, 2010

As with every major patch, it takes time for most of us to wrap our heads around the changes and new content. This morning, as I muddled through the game, I jotted down some notes that will hopefully make your adjustment period a little easier.  Here’s my list of the top-5 things you should do to ease the learning curve of Patch 4.0.1:

  1. Disable your add-ons – Personally, I like to disable all my add-ons, and then reintroduce them to my UI as they are updated.  I do this for a couple reasons.  First off, most add-ons are broken.  Do yourself a favor and just disable them before you login to a bunch of errors and potential crashes.  Secondly, I like to see everything Blizzard has to offer me.  If they’re going to allow me to move my mini-map, for instance, then I don’t need an add-on to do that for me.  I want to see all the changes to the UI and the game space, unimpeded by add-ons like Xperl or Bartender.
  2. Respec your character – You’ll be reminded right when you login that your talents have been reset, so be sure to respec your character!  Don’t worry about how you spec.  Just pick what you like.  At this point, there is very little evidence to back up theorycrafters as to which spec is “the best”.  All classes are slightly overpowered compared to how we will look in Cataclysm, so use this as an opportunity to play around with the talent trees and try out different specs.
  3. Visit your class trainer – Every class got new abilities so be sure to visit your class trainer to learn them.  You can also use this as an opportunity to check out the new Spellbook layout and tooltips.
  4. Check your gems – With the removal of stats like Spell Power, Armor Pen, and Spell Pen and all the changes to gem colors, your gems will likely look a lot different than what you’re used to seeing.  In many cases, you’ll have to regem to regain your socket bonuses.
  5. Check your glyphs – There are now 3 categories of glyphs (Minor, Major, and Prime).  We now get 3 sets of each at levels 25, 50, and 75, respectively.  So if you’re level 75 or above you have access to all 9 glyph slots.  Be sure to fill them up!  Also note that Glyphs are now learnable, so once you purchase a glyph and learn it, you will have it forever.

Getting these 5 things accomplished will get you back in the game, so-to-speak.  From here, don’t forget to check out the Reforging vendor.  Reforging was introduced with this patch.  The vendors are typically located near the Enchanting trainers.  If you have trouble finding them, just ask a guard.  I don’t suggest reforging immediately, but it’s a good idea to find the vendors and get familiar with how reforging works.  I plan to run some heroics to test out my equipment before doing any reforging, but if/when the opportunity arises, I plan on reforging into Mastery.  Since you won’t find Mastery as a gear stat, this is a great way to test out the effects of your Mastery rating, pre-Cataclysm.

If you have any tips you would like to add, post them here!

From → Discussions

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

