Skip to content

Episode 56 – Freeze! FBI!

by on May 16, 2011

Freeze! FBI!
These show notes are for Episode 56 of The Warcraft Syndicate Copyright 2011.

Intro

Segment 1 – This week in WoW

Gill – finished off Desolace, now working my way through Feralas. Had some insane disconnect issues (that Blizz fixed)

Stacalm – Started a Troll Warrior and have been leveling with my daughter who also started a Troll Warrior. Also, finally downed Cho’gall and now working on Nef.

Cenartion Hatchling Pet for Earthquake Relief
http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/05/02/blizzard-releases-cenarion-hatchling-pet-for-japan-earthquake-re/

Freeze! FBI!
http://www.gamepolitics.com/2011/04/14/fbi-raids-university-michigan-students039-apartment-over-wow-gold-farming

Where you going guys? We have content coming, we promise!
http://wow.joystiq.com/2011/05/09/world-of-warcraft-dips-to-a-mere-11-4-million-subscribers/

Segment 2 – Blizzard Blues

T12 Model Preview
http://www.mmo-champion.com/content/2288-Tier-12-Models-Preview-Warrior

Dragonwrath, Teracgosa’s Rest
http://www.mmo-champion.com/content/2290-Dragonwrath-Teracgosa-s-Rest-Preview

Segment 3 – Loot Table

Smithsonian reveals final list for new games exhibit
http://blog.games.yahoo.com/blog/659-smithsonian-reveals-final-list-for-new-games-exhibit

Segment 4 – E-mail/Q&A

Fallenmorn sez:

This is Fallenmorn, Aerie Peak (same as the 5 star review in itunes).
I wanted to pass on a suggestion for the loot table, in case you
haven’t tried it already, and ask a question.

Second, I have a question, or a request for a warcraft etiquette
ruling from those who have been around for a lot longer than I (I
started in October ’10). I’ve become fairly skilled at auctioneering,
especially with glyphs, which on my server fluctuate wildly (often
going from 15 gold to 150 gold and back in two days). One of the ways
I make money is to pick a glyph that is wildly overpriced, make 4 or
6, and post them for between 1 and 5 gold below the going rate. Two
days later, I bring the price down a little more, but always at least
double the cost of materials.

Now twice I’ve had people WOW message my bank alt (different toon,
where I do my posting from and little else) to curse and complain
about my undercutting them, and demand I switch to merely undercutting
a copper or two or maybe a silver as the “correct way to post”.
Personally, I think that the auction house is fair, and whatever price
you can get people to pay, you’re welcome to post at. But I was
wondering, is there any point of etiquette or good behavior that says
you must keep your prices near the wildly overpriced current going
rate? Gill, Stacalm, friends of the show, views on this? While I don’ts
agree with the complaint, I don’t want to be doing something that
might be equivalent, say, to a mage needing everything in a PUG.

Anyway, great show, keep up the good work, can’t wait to hear the next episode!

-Fallenmorn, Aerie Peak Server, Alliance Nation Guild

PS. I love how chaotic the auction house is when all the mods are
down. So many profitable opportunities 🙂

Tobito Sez:

I think both of you are wrong about Bound-to-Battlenet-Account items. You can ONLY send them to characters on your same realm BUT on a different account that is also tied to YOUR battlenet account.
So, if I have 2 accounts (1 and 2) that are tied to the same Battlenet account, I can send a BoA item from my character on account1 to my character on account2, but ONLY if the two toons involved are on the same Server.

My evidence:
On April 5th, the Devs did a Q&A session, and one of the questions was the following:
Q: Is there any plan to allow Account Bound items to be transfer to other realms? This could really give meaning to the phrase “Account Bound”.
A: Yes. Some day. It will take a lot of programmer time to implement, but it’s something we want to do.

If Blizzard had something like what you guys are talking about planned, I think their answer would have been more definitive than that. Thus, the way I read their description is the above, and I think that is the communities general consensus.

“Zool-ah-mahn” (Zul’Aman) and “Zool-gah-roob” (Zul’Gurub)

Segment 6 – Wrap-up

  • Special thanks to DJ Dan Morrell, TexasMusicForge, Herbert Bolland, and Lukaso at Freesound.org.
  • How to participate – e-mail us at thewarcraftsyndicate@gmail.com
  • 5-star review shoutouts: Fallenmorn sez, “I’ve been listening to Gill and Stacalm since joining WoW back in October, and always find their podcasts to be informative and fun. It’s great to have a team that can speak intelligently about subjects ranging from game play, lore, up and coming, fun things to do in WoW, and metagaming. I like their laid back attitude, and the regular stream of guest hosts they bring on. Keep up the good work, guys!”
  • Twitter followers: Tredon of Mannaroth, Samantha Solis
  • And just like Blizzard, the next podcast will be released within 10-14 days, or when it’s done (registered Trademark)
From → Show Notes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

